Tuna Regional Fisheries Management Organizations


(International Commission for the Conservation of Atlantic Tunas)
  • Launched in 1969.
  • Comprised of 41 contracting parties, including Japan, U.S.A., Canada, China, Korea and EU. Sets Regulations for bluefin tunas, juvenile of yellowfin tuna, bigeye tuna and bluefin tunas, vessel registration system, and Action Plan of tuna management.
ICCAT has been taking initiatives to effectively manage tunas in the Atlantic Ocean, such as the positive list scheme to eliminate IUU tuna fisheries and implementation of catch quotas bluefin tuna, etc.


(Inter-American Tropical Tuna Commission)
  • Launched in 1950.
  • Fifteen c ontracting parties, including Japan, U.S.A., Mexico, and Venezuela. Regulates yellowfin tunas and juvenile bigeye tunas.


(Commission for the Conservation of Southern Bluefin Tuna)
  • Launched in 1994.
  • Five contracting parties: Japan, Australia and New Zealand, Korea and Taiwan(Member for the Extended Commission).Determines the TAC of Southern bluefin tuna for every year, and allocates for each member nation.
(Indian Ocean Tuna Commission)
  • Launched in 1996.
  • Comprised of 24 contracting parties, including Japan, India, Korea, EU and Australia. Establishes the Vessel Registration System for the basis of effort control of tuna vessels in the area.
(Western and Central Pacific Fisheries Commission )
  • Established in June 2004.
  • Comprised of 30 contracting parties, including Japan, Australia, New Zealand, Federated States of Micronesia and Papua New Guinea.
  • The objective of the WCPFC is to ensure the long-term conservation
    and management of tuna and tuna-like fish in the ocean areas supplying
    about a third (slightly under 1,500,000 tons) of the world’s tuna
    and skipjack fishery production.